A proper Victoria Sponge 21st Birthday Cake (none of that French mousse and fruit rubbish)

10 Apr

One of my friends posted on my Facebook wall on my birthday wishing me a Happy Birthday and hoping that I get the chance to eat a proper, good old British sponge cake. There was no need to worry I tell you what, Mary Berry would be proud of my Mum’s effort transporting my cake through 3 countries to reach me here in Nice, still fresh and a delicious slice of Victoria Sponge (with a twist…) loveliness.

My mum used to always make my birthday cake topped with a ‘horse scene’ (yes, I am a horse girl) I love how, now that I am 21, she thought it was about time I recieved a more grown up cake.

The result – an impressive British Festival scene, complete with porta loos and muddy wellies.

Pretty great eh!Image

IMG_20130408_183233

2 Responses to “A proper Victoria Sponge 21st Birthday Cake (none of that French mousse and fruit rubbish)”

  1. lynne April 10, 2013 at 10:03 pm #

    A beautiful effort from my big sister. Hope you enjoyed your birthday, love Aunty Lynne xxx

    xxx

  2. Blazing Guns! April 10, 2013 at 11:13 pm #

    A sponge cake is also great for dipping in chocolate! mmmmm sponge cake!

Leave a Reply

